Assistance with Resolution...

Discussion in 'Linux - General discussion' started by black28, Dec 5, 2009.

  1. black28

    black28 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    can anyone help me set my resolution higher? it wont go higher than 800x600. it's a HP Pavilion 521c, Video Card is Trident Microsystems Cyberblade i1. running Xubuntu 9.1 on a 19" Samsung Syncmaster 906bw. it is not reading any drivers on the PC. this is what my xorg.conf file looks like,

    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "X.org Configured"
    Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Files"
    ModulePath "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/misc"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/cyrillic"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/100dpi/:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/75dpi/:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/Type1"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/100dpi"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/75dpi"
    FontPath "/var/lib/defoma/x-ttcidfont-conf.d/dirs/TrueType"
    FontPath "built-ins"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
    Load "dbe"
    Load "record"
    Load "glx"
    Load "dri"
    Load "dri2"
    Load "extmod"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Keyboard0"
    Driver "kbd"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Mouse0"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "Protocol" "auto"
    Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Monitor0"
    VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
    ModelName "Monitor Model"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    ### Available Driver options are:-
    ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
    ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
    ### [arg]: arg optional
    #Option "AccelMethod" # [<str>]
    #Option "SWcursor" # [<bool>]
    #Option "PciRetry" # [<bool>]
    #Option "NoAccel" # [<bool>]
    #Option "SetMClk" # <freq>
    #Option "MUXThreshold" # <i>
    #Option "ShadowFB" # [<bool>]
    #Option "Rotate" # [<str>]
    #Option "VideoKey" # <i>
    #Option "NoMMIO" # [<bool>]
    #Option "NoPciBurst" # [<bool>]
    #Option "MMIOonly" # [<bool>]
    #Option "CyberShadow" # [<bool>]
    #Option "CyberStretch" # [<bool>]
    #Option "XvHsync" # <i>
    #Option "XvVsync" # <i>
    #Option "XvBskew" # <i>
    #Option "XvRskew" # <i>
    #Option "FpDelay" # <i>
    #Option "Display1400" # [<bool>]
    #Option "Display" # [<str>]
    #Option "GammaBrightness" # [<str>]
    #Option "TVChipset" # [<str>]
    #Option "TVSignal" # <i>
    Identifier "Card0"
    Driver "trident"
    VendorName "Trident Microsystems"
    BoardName "CyberBlade/i1"
    BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Monitor0"
    VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
    ModelName "Monitor Model"
    HorizSync 31.5 - 50
    VertRefresh 50-110
    EndSection
    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device "Card0"
    Monitor "Monitor0"
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 1
    Viewport 0 0
    Modes "800x600"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 4
    Viewport 0 0
    Modes "800x600"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 8
    Viewport 0 0
    Modes "800x600"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 16
    Viewport 0 0
    Modes "800x600"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Viewport 0 0
    Modes "800x600"
    EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    i've tried editing the 800x600 to 1440x900 but nothing happens. please help with this. i'm fairly newbish and been trying to get this configured for almost a week now. All help is greatly Appreciated. Thanks so much in advanced.

    also is it worth Dual Booting 2 Linux Distros? was thinking of Xubuntu and Fedora 12. any suggestions on this or fedora alone?
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2009
  2. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    27,900
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    It's been a few years since i last manually edited X11 settings. More often than not you end up breaking stuff hence why i stopped trying to fix stuff that way. These days linux is more mature and thankfully there's less need to tinker with xorg.conf these days.

    I would get stuck into some googling personally, and here's a couple that might help ~

    http://www.linuxquestions.org/quest...djust-the-screen-resolution-on-ubuntu-417767/
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=217520

    edit
    - here's a link re editing manually ~ http://kimharding.net/dual_boot/
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2009
  3. Gneiss1

    Gneiss1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well, I'm familiar only with Debian. Perhaps something was left out during installation. Your x.conf looks a little spare. Is your monitor really a 'Monitor model', built by 'Monitor vendor'?

    Try a larger distribution, installed from scratch. Your X configuration file should contains only the default resolution for your monitor (which seems a bit conservative here). Perhaps your monitor wasn't in their database, or your install went badly. (I didn't catch what flavor of Linux you installed.)

    Even so, if you're using a graphical Desktop at all, it should allow you to simply adjust your monitor's resolution and frequency dynamically. On the default GNOME desktop of Debian GNU/Linux, I drop down the 'Desktop' menu, choose 'Preferences', then 'Screen Resolution'. The actual file run is

    Code:
    /usr/bin/gnome-display-properties
    There are drop-down menus for both resolution & frequency. These don't get written to the X configuration file unless I click the little 'make default' button.

    If your video card supports your monitor (or vice-versa), try and have the desktop application write your X.conf. If it offers no finer resolution, try a different distribution that can narrow your monitor down a little more. (Ubuntu is based upon Debian; Fedora is based upon Red Hat.)
     
  4. Gneiss1

    Gneiss1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Oh, sorry: Xubuntu 9.1. Try Fedora 12.
     
  5. Gneiss1

    Gneiss1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Just a small point (for I don't know how to edit messages).

    When I used to build systems for small businesses, I first selected the software best for them, then the operating system that best ran it, then the hardware that best ran the operating system.

    Sometimes things can get reversed.
     
  6. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    27,900
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Edit is the little pencil icon above each post :)
     
  7. Gneiss1

    Gneiss1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Amazing. I could have sworn it was never there before. Thanks!
     
  8. scum101

    scum101 Guest

    xubuntu.. even more crap than n00buntu.. try straight debian, because it has way more hardware support for a start

    What graphics card/chipset are you running.. this is a real common situation with ati cards..
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 6, 2009
  9. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,266
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    78
  10. scum101

    scum101 Guest

    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 21, 2009
  11. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,266
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Perhaps puppy on live cd ,it'll come with the xorg as well as xvesa desktop,try the xorg if it black screens then you'll have to use xvesa which means monitor res will be a max of 1028x768,then decide if you want to install or attempt an xubuntu fix or another distro,would an earlier version of xubuntu do it or maybe a earlier version of kubuntu,i think you may be stuck unless you want to upgrade the graphic card,hp's intergrated graphics ain't the greatest & i should know..lol..
     

Share This Page