best dv format for editing

Discussion in 'Digital camcorders' started by ken_k, Jun 23, 2004.

1. ken_k

ken_k Member

Hi. I'm new to digital video. Recently I bought a camcorder and shot about 10 hours of stuff while travelling. I fed the footage via a firewire link to my computer using Ulead Video Studio 7. (I know there are more sophisticated programs out there, but for my first stages this is just fine). I noticed that the resultant AVI files were mammoth -- about 1 gigabyte per 10 minutes of footage. So after transfering I converted the file to MPEG2. I did this with all 10 hours of footage.

As I was preparing to get down to editing, I came across this comment from forum member vurbal: "Encoding to MPEG should always be the last step."

Why is this? What advantages are there to keeping it in such an unwieldy format as AVI? Does mpeg conversion degrade quality? If so, I'll re-transfer my video and save it as AVI, but only if I have to . Could someone please advise?

2. vurbal

vurbal Administrator Staff Member

Well since I was the one who made the comment, I should explain what I meant. There are 2 types of (lossy) compression that can be applied to video - Intraframe and Interframe. With intraframe compression, each frame contains all the information needed to display it, but the chroma (color) information isn't contained in every pixel so it's still smaller than the original. Both DV and MPEG use this type of compression. MPEG also uses interframe compression, meaning that only some of the frames contain all the information required for display. These are called keyframes, or in the case of MPEG, I frames. They're grouped together with several subsequent frames (B and P frames) in what's called a GOP (Group Of Pictures). To display a frame in the middle of a GOP, you need to have at least all the previous frames in that GOP, and sometimes some from the next GOP.