Digital Video Camera MPEG-4 to DVD Video

Discussion in 'Digital camcorders' started by EWAT, Sep 4, 2005.

1. EWAT

EWAT Member

I have been viewing the material on this site. I have to admit I am new to this. Can someone tell me how to convert an MPEG-4 file from a digital video camera so it could be viewed on a DVD player on a TV. Just pointing me to the proper guide would be helpful. I could not find a guide stating MPEG-4, but possibly I am not looking for the right thing or not finding it.
    Thanks and forgive me if this is too elementary.
    Don

2. rubyfilmz

rubyfilmz Member

try sony video vegas, or any other editing program you can get your hands on

3. TPFKAS

TPFKAS Regular member

You don't need a video editing program but an encoder and a DVD authoring program (or one that has both inside).
    I haven't tried it but Nero VisionExpress (part of the newer version of Nero) should be able to improt mpeg-4 files and encode it to mpeg-2. Of course there are many other porgrams that can do it.

4. EWAT

EWAT Member

Thanks for the responses. TPFKAS wrote that Nero Vision Express could do it. I have the new Nero 6.6 suite. Although I am still working with Nero to get it to record DVDs I can work with it saving it to my hard drive then I can use one of my other programs to save it to DVD. Once I take my MPEG-4 file and encode it to MPEG-2 I would assume that I would then have to convert it once again into DVD format(vob)? I could probably use Nero to do that too? Or is MPEG-2 readable by DVD players? I have to admit I do not understand all these MPEG versions.
    Thanks
    Don

5. TPFKAS

TPFKAS Regular member

The format used by DVD is MPEG-2. A VOB-file is just a "container" in a format that a DVD player can read and which contains the MPEG-stream(s) together with other info (like extra audio tracks, subtitles etc.).