dvd x copy gold vs. platinum- and Roxio 6

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by cdkrogers, Sep 11, 2003.

1. cdkrogers

cdkrogers Member

I'm pretty new at burning dvd's, so I'm in need of some help here.
    I wanted to know the difference between the dvd x copy gold and platinum. If I buy platinum, is it only downloadable or can I get it on disk.
    I basically want to backup my dvd's onto one disk with the best quality.
    I have Roxio 6, and I can't backup my movie dvd's with it. Is there any way I can change some settings and use Roxio at all for this?
    Thanks for all the help!

2. Prisoner

Prisoner Guest

Platinum is the newer version which will allow you to copy DVD`s with episodes. Gold is the same version of Express but the DVDXcopy version is the older version. Platnium would be better then gold as the Gold version is basically the same as just Express as it also allows full copyies.
    Yes Platinum is available on a Disc, you can order it that way.
    But if you can also download Decrycter and shink from this website software section and burn to disk with Roxio or anything.
    But Platinum is a really good lazy one click way to copy and type of DVD to one or two DVD`s

3. 72morgan

72morgan Regular member

Prisoner , You left out a couple of important facts. Decrypter and DVDShrink are FREE . Why should you pay $60 to $120 for X Copy or Platinum?? When you can get the others for FREE ?? Well DVD Shrink needs a program like NERO 6.0 that costs $70 to burn the discs. Other people on this forum like DVD2One. DVD2One costs $40 & also needs a $70 program like Nero to burn the discs. There is a lot of discussion about which one is better , which one is easier , which one has the better picture quality. But there is one thing they will NEVER tell you!!!!!