Need help with dvd set-up

Discussion in 'DVD players' started by superfngr, Jul 27, 2006.

1. superfngr

superfngr Guest

I didnt know where to post this so im posting here since its the closest thing. I have a hitatchi 50v500 50 inch lcd hdtv and i just purchased a samsung up-conversion dvd player and im runnin ginto input troubles and need help. the tv has dvi support with 2 sets of component inputs and 3 more sets of composite inputs. heres my problem... i use a dvi cable for my cable box which is considered input 1 so since the dvi only does video i have to use the red and white cables for audio in the input 1. then on input 2 i run my xbox 360 which uses the component cables and the regular red and white for auido in input 2. NOw i just bought the upconversion dvd player and when i plug the component cables into input 1 i dont have a place for the audio cables since the dvi only does video and i have to use the red and white cables in input 1 to give my cable box audio. im a noob at these things so i may be missing something but if not am i just stuck switching cables in and out?Someone PLEASE help me.

the ony thing i can think of is two splinter the red and white audio cables between my cable box and dvd player but then i get degraded sound and only use one speakre per device.

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 27, 2006
  2. JVC

JVC Active member

You said you were using one set of components for Xbox, that leaves one set still open. Can't you use input 3 for the dvd player, and use the composite audio, that goes with that set of components?

3. superfngr

superfngr Guest

i will try that but will it register that the audio is on input 3. i mean i have the one set of componenets open like u said in input one so if i put them there and i turn the tv on to watch a dvd i have to set it to input 1 and the audio will be in input three so since its set on input 1 i didnt think i could use the composite audio on input 3