Need to buy a DVC relatively quick

Discussion in 'Digital camcorders' started by VidLaz, Dec 15, 2007.

1. VidLaz

VidLaz Member

Hi everyone,

Obviously I'm new to the forum, but I've read many of the post and it looks like these forums have the people with the knowledge I need.

I'm no pro, just a regular family guy looking for a decent DVC for my needs. shooting vacations, school events, maybe some of the kids sports. I do want to transfer this to ... I think DVDs for the purpose of archiving... Editing? Maybe later... right now I just want to record and store....

I don't think I need HD, I do want a decent optical zoom, I'm hoping it to be able to take better stills than my current Canon sureshot A300 (3.2 MP..which is doing nicely for things that are at a stand still...although that is the thing that bugs me about it...) can't snap pictuers of the kids playing soccer for instance ...

So .... 1 CCD, 3 CCDs (other?), HDD, miniDVD, tape (format is called?), memory cards? I don't think I need HD. Firewire or USB...should I care (PC User). Basically I'm looking for an easy to use value for money DVC that shoots stills better than 3.2 MP and faster at stills than the A300 I have. I'm looking at a budget of around $500 Canadian. I'm not partial to brand really .. Cash is king.

bags, extra batteries in a bundle ... I'm talking a position out of country ... leaving soon and I really don't have the time for the 2 solid weeks of research it would take ... So I'm hoping to learn and decide fast with everyones help....

Any assistance would be great. I'm leaning to a 3CCD, MiniDV, taking actions stills I think it the hardest part of trying to get 2 devices in 1. (why 3ccd versus 1 ... the options really seem to drop) I understand that one is allocated to each color so the capture is faster? (more processing power for the image?)

Camless in Canada...

2. GrandpaBW

GrandpaBW Active member