Newbie getting married--Help

Discussion in 'Digital camcorders' started by JoseRC, Jul 14, 2005.

1. JoseRC

JoseRC Member

First let me say Hi to all....newbie here :)

I´m in trouble, i´m getting married and my friends want to give me a camcorder. The thing is that I would love to have a camcorder, except that I don´t understand nothing about all this recording types, xpto features, etc..
    The budget is @ 1800 US$ so I guess that it´s enough for some decent gear. My only demand is that it as to be small (cause I travel a lot).

Please help me with my choice....

Thank you all in advance :)

2. andmerr

andmerr Guest

hi JoseRC and welcome to the forum.

heres an article in my neck of the woods that may help you in choosing your camcorder:

(from choice.com.au)

Don’t worry too much about picture quality when shopping for a digital camcorder — it’s mainly their sound quality that sets them apart.

Whether it’s that dream holiday or your kids growing up, a digital camcorder can help you preserve your favourite memories in high, never deteriorating quality.
    What you get
    If you’re thinking of buying a digital camcorder, you can expect:
    Picture quality that’s clearly better than that of highband analogue systems.
    Potentially hifi-quality sound. However, only a few of the built-in microphones realise that potential — the others usually can’t avoid recording the running noise of the camcorder’s motor. On most models this problem can be overcome by using an external microphone.
    Amazingly small and lightweight camcorders packed with generally easy-to-use menu-controlled features and functions.
    The ability to play back your recordings on your TV, and to transfer them to a computer for near-professional editing (if you have the necessary software) without loss of quality.