newbie, questions about backing up games

Discussion in 'Xbox - Backup discussion' started by adamryer, Jun 16, 2004.

1. adamryer

adamryer Guest

im new to backing up games, i was wondering about backing up xbox games. What type of disks are xbox games on? can you make a straight 1 to 1 copy, and if not what do you have to do in order to make a playable backup? im planning on getting a chip and a bigger hard drive so if i have the hard drive do i need to use my computer to back up my games? if not then how do i get the games onto the new hard drive? please help me out it will be greatly appreciated! :)

2. djboogie

djboogie Regular member

ARGHHHHHHH
    !!! BANGS HEAD!!!
    opps er sorry
    ahem cough cough
    xbox games are dvd, though VERY few will fit on a cd (VERY few -rollercoaster tycoon is one)
    you cant make 1 on 1 copies on a pc, no way no how, from a retail game
    you can mod it either with a chip, or tsop (onboard bios flash, I dont recommend it for newbies)
    or there are a few software exploits for some games.
    basically, you need to get it modded, get a "hacked" bios ( search the web for xbins using mirc, thats bout all I can say)
    then the easiest way is with an autoinstaller, theres a few good ones, xaviers (oldie but still good) slayers, littlejonnys, and (pardon my french) firefuckers (apparantly a very good one though I havent tried it)
    also check up on what version xbox you have,(1.0 to 1.6) and what dvd drive you have, (not all xbox play the same media etc, although I have success on 3 drives using sony OEM dvd-r, ritek again are good)
    the stuff is out there, on this forum and sites like xbox-scene.com, x-b-o-x.com etc
    as they say on xfiles,
    .......the truth is out there!!

btw most, if not all, auto installers have a game installer (ie put in your game, load it to your hdd)