Problem with Camcorder

Discussion in 'Digital camcorders' started by Sheila1, Nov 15, 2005.

1. Sheila1

Sheila1 Guest

Hi,

I wonder if anyone could offer me some advice please?

A few monts ago I bought a JVC GR-DF470EK digital camcorder with built in camera.

I'm very new to using a camcorder and have used it for only about two hours, including looking through the menus, setting the date and time etc.

Recently, I took it to a christening and found that it would only record sound. The LCD display and the viewfinder were both black even though the lens cap had been removed. The situation remains the same whether I'm in video or camera mode.

I feel sure it's something silly that I've done, maybe selecting a menu choice by accident.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

Sheila :)

2. heilung05

heilung05 Member

Sheila Hopefully you bought it new and mechanically its ok.
    First idea talk to store who sold it for some quick free advice. Some mail order places might help for a few seconds if you bought from them ( I buy from B&H). Talk to friend who knows enough to help understand the manual.I hope the light chip is not fried as in pointing it at the sun.Heilung

3. heilung05

heilung05 Member

Another thought: With the book, try the different settings, practice practice before you have something important to record.The tape can be written over many times(I presume its a tape I dont know that model). so it wont cost anthing.Heilung

4. heilung05

heilung05 Member

Yet another thought: Is the battery good and fully charged. The indicators should tell you that. Heilung

5. yumzone

yumzone Member

Hi there I picked this up from the JVC site I dontknow if this helps or not ... . Important Notice to Camcorder Customers