quality loss using firewire

Discussion in 'Digital camcorders' started by mully4235, May 14, 2005.

1. mully4235

mully4235 Member

Hey, I've recently purchased a Samsung Mini Dv and I've taken some footage with it. When played back on the LCD and through the RCA jacks on my TV, the quality was great. I tried to transfer it to my computer using the firewire and Sonic MyDVD and Windows Movie Maker and the quality greatly decreased...It saves as a large file(.avi), BUT the quality goes down. Any ideas on why this happens and if there is a way to stop this? Is it the programs I'm using? Any help is greatly appreciated.

2. WesleyHes

WesleyHes Member

I'm really still new to this stuff but I'll try to help based on my limited knowledge.

Firewire should in no may cause degradation or signal loss. That's why it's used for video/audio applications like camcorder/computer connections, etc. And because it allows two way communications.

My new camcorder connects to the television with RCA cables too. I hate that because I would have prefered an S-Video option at least. Anyway video quality from "not real good" to "great": RF, Composite (RCA), S-Video, Component and the future: DVI/HDMI.

I tried Windows Movie Maker first (it was all I had to start with). It does a great job of capturing the video from the camcorder and then saving it as an avi file. NOTE: I haven't done any "long" 30-60 minute movies yet. The quality I got was pretty good: for the computer. I don't think it would hold up very good on my big-screen television though. Unfortunately, I don't have an easy way at the moment to watch avi files on my tv. So, I used Dr. DivX to convert the avi file to DivX. I have plenty of DivX compatible DVD players and the playback quality was just OK. There were the usual compression artifacts and of course the video didn't look nearly as good as the original DV.