QuickTime and MSFrontpage Probleme

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by endz, Feb 1, 2006.

  1. endz

    endz Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hey guys

    I thought i shoul post here because you guys are most knowlegabel, in the area of tech and PC.

    So heres the deal, i have downloaded a 8MB movie trailor which i need on my website for an assignment, Now this website isnt going online or anything, all i need to do is find out how i can insert this trailor into my template in Microsoftfrontpage and when i press the preview button it plays there woth the music and action, its not long only a small trailor. Do you guys know how to do this?

    Thanks alot guys, i hope to get somehelp soon. TY
     
  2. endz

    endz Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Anyone help me out with this one?
    TY
     
  3. Jeanc1

    Jeanc1 Guest

    I never use FrontPage -- I do all my coding by hand !
    Here's what it would look like coded long hand.

    <OBJECT CLASSID="clsid:02BF25D5-8C17-4B23-BC80-D3488ABDDC6B" WIDTH="pixels" HEIGHT="pixels"
    CODEBASE="http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab">
    <PARAM name="SRC" VALUE="YOUR MOVIE.mov">
    <PARAM name="AUTOPLAY" VALUE="true">
    <PARAM name="CONTROLLER" VALUE="true">
    <PARAM name="LOOP" VALUE="false">
    <EMBED SRC="YOUR MOVIE.mov" WIDTH="pixels" HEIGHT="pixels" AUTOPLAY="true" CONTROLLER="true" LOOP="false" PLUGINSPAGE="http://www.apple.com/quicktime/download/">
    </EMBED>
    </OBJECT>


    you could add a Quicktime button for people who may have to download Quicktime to see your movie like so:-

    <A HREF="http://www.apple.com/quicktime/download/"><IMG SRC="http://a772.g.akamai.net/7/772/51/9a209465e85cbe/www.apple.com/main/elements/getquicktime.gif" WIDTH="88" HEIGHT="31" BORDER="0" ALT="Get QuickTime"></A>


     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2006
  4. endz

    endz Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks alot for your advice and help.

    So if i enter:

    <OBJECT CLASSID="clsid:02BF25D5-8C17-4B23-BC80-D3488ABDDC6B" WIDTH="[bold]pixels[/bold]" HEIGHT="[bold]pixels[/bold]"
    CODEBASE="[bold]http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab"[/bold]>
    <PARAM name="[bold]SRC" VALUE="YOUR MOVIE.mov[/bold]">
    <PARAM name="[bold]AUTOPLAY" VALUE="true[/bold]">
    <PARAM name="[bold]CONTROLLER" VALUE="true[/bold]">
    <PARAM name="[bold]LOOP" VALUE="false[/bold]">
    <EMBED SRC="[bold]YOUR MOVIE.mov" WIDTH="pixels" HEIGHT="pixels" AUTOPLAY="true" CONTROLLER="true" LOOP="false[/bold]" PLUGINSPAGE="[bold]http://www.apple.com/quicktime/download/"[/bold]>
    </EMBED>
    </OBJECT>

    What is the correct information i would need to enter to get the movie to play in the browser (not online) when i press a 'play' button? By this i mean like the sources the web adress etc. If you look at the bold places, do i need to change all of these places with my own info? If so please tell me each place and with what info i would need to replace this with.

    Is this possible to get a quick time movie and make it play when i press the 'play' link next to it? If so along with this and the sound could i position the playing screen/box or whatever at the center of the bottom of the page?

    Thanks alot for your help mate, This means alot to me and would really help me out. Thanks for all your help. Sorry if im asking for too much.

     
  5. Jeanc1

    Jeanc1 Guest

    Unfortunately I do not know where you are gonna upload this ! So no way I can give you the exact addresses for your application -- This was strickly an example as to what it would look coded long hand !

    Some tidbits to help you :-

    "to play in the browser" -- you would have to specify the SRC has being say C/Myfolder/MyMovie.mov


    "when i press a 'play' button?" -- that is part of the plugin from APPLE that will show on your desk

    "position the playing screen/box" -- This requires you use the HTML Tag <POS> -- and has to be inserted using the X,Y coordinates.

    "Pixels" = your own width and length in pixels

    Am sorry but I cannot give you a course on HTML coding in here -- may I suggest you do search online for tutorials on basic Html coding -- If you do not want to go to that extent, you could use CoffeeCup HTML editor instead of that outdated FrontPage -- it is user friendly and able to initiate all that you want to do -- right on your desk. This is what most beginners do till they learn how to do it long hand.

    Edited to correct:- In my previous post I stated you could add a button to download Quictime -- the link for the image shown is no longer active (http://a772.g.akamai.net/7/772/51/9a209465e85cbe/www.apple.com/ma...) so just plain diregard or substitute your own icon for it.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2006

Share This Page