Starting at the computer, I need one, what's best?

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by insideout, Nov 14, 2003.

1. insideout

insideout Guest

I'm a newbie with big goals. I'm starting from getting a computer that would allow me to hear sounds, import video, import sound, editing software-final cut pro. I'd like to do Digital video and photography for weddings and parties. I'm pretty novice and don't want to buy the wrong thing. Each dollar counts, I want semi pro. Could I do it on a Dell? Or try to learn it on a Dell?
    I don't want to invest too much to start in case i can't figure it all out. Where do I start? Am I in the right place?

2. therock..

therock.. Guest

personally speaking i wouldnt touch a dell or anything like that now.i spent about 1000 euros on my tower and im now currently upgrading it i didnt realise how crap high street computers are go for a self build or go to a independent computer shop and tell them what you want and get them to build you one

hth

if you got any questions id happily answer them :)

3. Prisoner

Prisoner Guest

Hello
    Evey thing you mentioned there to me cries out New G5 Imac. I am a PC person, but for cheaper cost and more power Macs are the way to go. also the new OS 10.3 is really a Unix box and is amazing for software. But I as a PC person, I would say not too get Dell as it will not be cheap. At Dell you pay a lot to get the help service, but this is amazing help service. For a PC with what you want HP as recently created systems to do what you listed that are cheap and Sony is also making Box Computers to do what you want. I wouldn't build it you yourself, as that can be time consuming and finique. A one shot HP box that can be later upgraded would probally be best if you want to stay in the PC land. But honestly you can go to the Dark Mac side, get a G5 and use the new OS 10 or kick it off and install Red hat 9 with Gimp and other Free programs that are better than Adobe.

4. Praetor